If you have an account on twitter but you’ve not been active, it will be deleted according to the latest announcement.
Profiles that have shown no activity in the last six months will undergo serious cleansing beginning from December 11, 2019. Meaning beginning from the stated date, if no activity is still shown, your account will be deleted and your username will be open for someone else to take.
Freeing Up Usernames
The decision will lead to the removal of the accounts of deceased persons and the deletion of their entire tweet history.
The management said it was considering a way to memorialize these accounts.
The process will also gradually free up usernames assigned to inactive accounts.
According to twitter,
“As part of our commitment to serve the public conversation, we’re working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across Twitter.”
“Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our inactive accounts policy,” Twitter said.