Earlier in January, the company laid fresh terms and conditions aimed at increasing business transactions on the platform.
The policy update would allow owner Facebook and its subsidiaries to collect user data, including their phone number and location, which sparked a global outcry and a rush of new users to competitors Telegram and Signal, among others.
WhatsApp then moved to delay the new policy launch to May 15 from February and sought to clarify the update was focused on allowing users to message with businesses and would not affect personal conversations, which will continue to have end-to-end encryption.
“If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account,” the company states in a FAQ on its website.
“However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.”
- WhatsApp Upcoming Update: View once – Here is All You Should Know
- WhatsApp Flash Calls Feature Coming to Your Android Phone Soon
- WhatsApp Will be Releasing These Features in 8 Weeks Time; Multi Device, View once, More
- WhatsApp Reverse Policy, Won’t limit Functionality if You Don’t Accept it’s New Policy